

Paediatrics Awards and Recognition Committee (ARC) Bulletin

Fall 2024 | Issue 10

The Department of Paediatrics Awards and Nomination Committee (ARC) was established in March 2021 with the goal of elevating the local, national, and international profile of the Department of Paediatrics at the University of Toronto. By strategically promoting our talented faculty, we aim to enhance their academic standing and career development both within the University and on a global scale.

Upcoming Awards and Deadlines

To strategically promote Paediatrics Faculty and enhance our local, regional, and international profile, we plan to send out a quarterly communication detailing upcoming awards. Below are the details of upcoming awards. We encourage you to assess your eligibility for these awards or consider nominating deserving colleagues.

Award	Deadline	Website
Helen P. Batty Awards for Excellence and Achievement in Faculty Development	January 21	https://centreforfacdev.ca/awards/
Norman Rosenblum Award for Excellence in Mentorship in the MD/PhD Program	January 29	https://md.utoronto.ca/norman-rosenblum-award- excellence-mentorship-mdphd-program
Miriam Rossi Award for Health Equity in Undergraduate Medical Education	January 29	https://md.utoronto.ca/miriam-rossi-award-health- equity-undergraduate-medical-education
W T Aikins Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award	January 29	<u>https://temertymedicine.utoronto.ca/awards-w-t-aikins</u>
Canadian Paediatric Society (CPS) Awards	January 31	https://cps.ca/en/awards-prix
The Order of Ontario	March 31	https://www.ontario.ca/page/order-ontario#section-2
Temerty Faculty of Medicine Dean's Alumni Awards	Nominations early in early 2025	https://temertymedicine.utoronto.ca/deans-alumni- awards
University of Toronto Honours & Awards Database		<u>https://research.utoronto.ca/honours-</u> <u>awards/honours-awards</u>

Awards Highlights

Pediatric Chairs of Canada (PCC) recently celebrated the award recipients of the 2024 Pediatric Academic Leadership Awards at their annual meeting. Congratulations to Dr. Stacey Bernstein for receiving the Clinician Educator Award, Dr. Indra Narang for receiving the Clinician Practitioner Award, Dr. Avram (Avi) Denburg for receiving the Emerging Academic Leader Award.









Dr. Brian McCrindle has been honored with the prestigious **Young Hearts Distinguished Achievement Award** by the American Heart
Association (AHA). This accolade celebrates his enduring
dedication and significant contributions to the field, as well as his
impactful work with the AHA's Council on Lifelong Congenital
Heart Disease and Heart Health in the Young (Young Hearts).



American Academy of Cerebral Palsy and Developmental Medicine (AACPDM). Dr. Darcy Fehlings has been honored with the **2024 Lifetime Achievement Award by the American Academy of Cerebral Palsy and Developmental Medicine (AACPDM)**. This prestigious award celebrates Dr. Fehlings' remarkable achievements in cerebral palsy research and her exceptional contributions to improving the health and well-being of individuals with CP.





The King Charles III Coronation Medal was presented to Sister (Dr.) Nuala Kenny by the Honourable Senator Rosemary Moodie (Professor of Paediatrics and Staff Neonatologist at SickKids) on behalf of the Governor General of Canada. This award recognizes Dr. Kenny's significant contributions to Canada's healthcare system. As a former Paediatrics faculty member, Dr. Kenny previously served as the Director of Medical Education in 1982. Congratulations, Dr. Kenny, on this prestigious honor!



Public Health Sciences has awarded Dr. Peter Wong the 2024 Faculty Award for Excellence in Service to the Community. This honour recognizes Dr. Wong's dedication and his wide-ranging contributions, including clinical practice, research, and policy development. Congratulations, Dr. Wong, on this well-deserved recognition!

Have you recently received an award, or know of a colleague that received an award that you'd like to be highlighted in the ARC Bulletin? Please send us the details at a<u>rc.paediatrics@sickkids.ca</u>

Sanjay Mahant, ARC Co-Chair

Shahut Led

Annie Huang, ARC Co-Chair

ARC Committee Members:

Jabeen Fayyaz, Simon Ling, Prakesh Shah, Suzan Williams, Catherine Lim Shue (program support)