Scientific & Academic Chairs

photo collage of Canada Research Chairs group

Canada Research Chairs

Canada Research Chairs (CRC) Program is a nationally funded program aimed at establishing Canada as a leading paediatric research and development nation by recruiting and retaining some of the world's brightest and talented minds.  The prestigious and highly competitive Tier 1 Canada Research Chairs are awarded to senior investigators with a track record of innovative science and training the next generation of scientists, while Tier 2 Canada Research Chairs are awarded to junior emerging leaders in science.

Temerty Paediatric Researchers currently hold 11 prestigious Canada Research Chairs:


Endowed Chairs

Our faculty are globally recognized for their scientific contributions and world-leading research and academic activities.  Many of our faculty are recognized for their scientific excellence and academic contributions with endowed chairs funded by individuals, companies or organizations, that enable them to continue leading research and academic activities in a wide range of paediatric disciplines.

  • Upton Allen – SickKids Bastable-Potts Chair in Infectious Diseases Research 
  • Evdokia Anagnostou – Holland Bloorview Dr. Stuart D. Sims Chair in Autism
  • Eric Benchimol – SickKids Northbridge Financial Corporation Chair in Inflammatory Bowel Disease 
  • Zulfiqar Bhutta – SickKids The Robert Harding Chair in Global Child Health 
  • Catherine Birken – University of Toronto The Edwin S.H. Leong Chair in Child Health Intervention 
  • James Dowling – SickKids Mogford Campbell Family Chair in Paediatric Clinical Neuroscience 
  • Brian Feldman – SickKids The Ho Family Chair in Autoimmune Diseases
  • Estelle Gauda - SickKids The Women's Auxiliary Chair in Neonatology 
  • Eyal Grunebaum – SickKids The Donald & Audrey Campbell Chair in Immunology 
  • Jill Hamilton – SickKids Mead Johnson Chair in Nutritional Science
  • Meredith Irwin – University of Toronto The R.S. McLaughlin Foundation Chair in Paediatrics 
  • Tamorah Lewis – SickKids Sellers Chair in Pharmacology & Pharmacogenetics 
  • Jonathon Maguire – University of Toronto Lawson Chair in Patient Engagement in Child Nutrition
  • David Malkin – SickKids CIBC Children's Foundation Chair in Child Health Research 
  • Roberto Mendoza - SickKids The Women's Auxiliary Chair in Clinical & Metabolic Genetics 
  • Seema Mital – SickKids The Heart and Stroke Foundation Robert M. Freedom Chair in Cardiovascular Science 
  • Melanie Penner – Bloorview Childrens Hospital Foundation (BCHF) Research Chair in Developmental Pediatrics
  •  Mike Seed – SickKids BMO Financial Group Chair in Cardiology
  • Uri Tabori – SickKids Garron Family Chair in Childhood Cancer Research 2 
  • Donna Wall – SickKids Garron Family and Hatz Off 2 Kidz Chair in Childhood Leukemia Research
  • Jim Whitlock - SickKids The Women's Auxiliary Children Millennium Chair in Paediatric Haematology/Oncology 
  • Rae Yeung – SickKids Hak-Ming and Deborah Chiu Chair in Paediatric Translational Medicine 
  • Stanley Zlotkin – SickKids Mining4Life Chair in Mineral Nutrition